Allow me to introduce myself…

Hello readers,

First of all, I would like to take a moment to thank you for visiting my page. I truly appreciate the fact that you have taken the time out of your busy schedule to check out what I have cooking in my kitchen.

Food is a common ground for every human on this planet and everyone has a unique and sometimes very intimate connection with food. I grew up in the restaurant industry, so being a foodie is something I inherited. While I wish I could help it, at times I find myself critiquing every aspect of food, including but not limited to quality, flavors, and ingredients. As the offspring of a restaurant owner, I was constantly working in the restaurants, interacting with the customers and of course eating all of the delicious food. I still dream about the amazing food to this day. Despite the delicious flavors, I began to see the long term health effects of eating unhealthy food. As my father became sick, I wanted to find a cleaner and healthier way of life.

As I grew older, I began experimenting with my own taste palette. Although both of my parents were mostly meat and potato lovers, I have always loved vegetables in my dishes. So, when I was in college and would go home on the weekends, I would commit to making dinner one night of the weekend. One of the first dinners I made for them was my Southwestern Quinoa. My father had actually never heard of Quinoa and was quite apprehensive to try it. But the moment he did, he couldn’t get enough. That was the first time I made a meal for my family that did not receive the slightest criticism. It’s a tough life being the daughter of a professional chef/ restaurant owner and cooking dinner in our family is no walk in the park. Soon after, I took up cooking as a hobby and started trying one new recipe a day at a time. What I once considered a chore and inconvenience, became a passion that is very close to my heart and I hope to inspire all of you to begin cooking with your hearts as well.

I want to dedicate this blog to my parents who have inspired me to live a healthy and happy life and to my Granny who is always inspiring me to get creative with my cooking.

2 thoughts on “Allow me to introduce myself…

  1. Welcome to the blogosphere, I can’t wait to read more from you 🙂 I just followed you, it would be great if we can support each other! I hope you’ll enjoy blogging as much as we all do here.

Leave a Reply

